Acknowledgements

The *Transition Report 2020-21* was prepared by the Office of the Chief Economist of the EBRD, with contributions from other EBRD departments and under the general direction of Beata Javorcik.

The editors of the report are Ralph De Haas and Alexander Plekhanov.

Philipp Paetzold provided research assistance.

The writing teams for the chapters, boxes and annexes comprised:

Chapter 1

Tea Gamtkitsulashvili, William Megginson, Nicholas Monioudis and Alexander Plekhanov (team leader), with contributions from Gaurav Jain.

Box 1.1 was prepared by Zsoka Koczan and Nikola Vujic. **Box 1.2** was prepared by Nicholas Monioudis. **Box 1.3** was prepared by Philipp Paetzold. **Box 1.4** was prepared by Margherita Calderone. **Box 1.5** was prepared by Cevat Giray Aksoy. **Box 1.6** was prepared by Philipp Paetzold. **Box 1.7** was prepared by William Megginson. **Box 1.8** was prepared by Cağatay Bircan, Ralph De Haas and Nathaniel Young.

Chapter 2

Gian Piero Cigna, Pavle Djuric, Zsoka Koczan (team leader), Philipp Paetzold, Nikola Vujic and Yuliya Zemlytska, with contributions from Milot Ahma and Hanna Volchak. **Box 2.1** was prepared by Philipp Paetzold, Nikola Vujic and Zsoka Koczan. **Box 2.2** was prepared by Kjetil Tvedt. **Box 2.3** was prepared by Philipp Paetzold. **Box 2.4** was prepared by Markus Eller and Thomas Scheiber. **Box 2.5** was prepared by Tea Gamtkitsulashvili, Gaurav Jain and Alexander Plekhanov. **Box 2.6** was prepared by Rika Ishii. **Box 2.7** was prepared by Keuno Lee and Philipp Paetzold. **Box 2.8** was prepared by Simon Commander.

Chapter 3

Cağatay Bircan (team leader), Ralph De Haas, Ebru Işleyen and Victoria Robinson, with contributions from Alexander Stepanov. **Box 3.1** was prepared by Cağatay Bircan and Orkun Saka. **Box 3.2** was prepared by Cağatay Bircan and Ralph De Haas, with contributions from Eda Gulsen and José-Luis Peydró. **Box 3.3** was prepared by Ralph De Haas, Karolin Kirschenmann, Kamola Makhmudova, Alison Schultz and Yana Tamulyavchute.

Chapter 4

Sam Fankhauser, Beata Javorcik, Jörn Onken and Helena
Schweiger (team leader), with contributions from Russell Bishop,
Ksenia Brockmann, Ian Smith and Anna Vasylyeva.
Box 4.1 was prepared by Cevat Giray Aksoy and Jörn Onken.
Box 4.2 was prepared by Helena Schweiger, with contributions
from Ksenia Brockmann and Ian Smith. Box 4.3 was prepared by
Craig Davies. Box 4.4 was prepared by Damin Chung and Valerie
Mueller. Box 4.5 was prepared by Russell Bishop and Anna
Vasylyeva. Annex 4.1 was prepared by Helena Schweiger.
Annex 4.2 was prepared by Jörn Onken.

Structural reform

Umidjon Abdullaev (team leader) and Anna Sali, with contributions from sector and regional economists and analysts of the Economics, Policy and Governance (EPG) Department. **Box S.1** was prepared by Anna Sali.

The online country assessments at tr-ebrd.com were prepared by the regional economists and analysts of the EPG Department and edited by Peter Sanfey.

Editorial, multimedia and production guidance for the *Transition Report 2020-21* was provided by Dermot Doorly, Hannah Fenn, Cathy Goudie, Dan Kelly, Nigina Mirbabaeva, Viktorija Quartly, Jane Ross, Natasha Treloar, Jonathan Wells, Bryan Whitford and Anthony Williams in the EBRD Communications Department, and by Matthew Hart and Helen Valvona. The report was designed and print-managed by Blackwood Creative Ltd; www.weareblackwood.com.

The report benefited from comments and suggestions from the EBRD Board of Directors and their authorities, the EBRD staff and staff from the European Commission, European Investment Bank, International Monetary Fund and the World Bank Group as well as Saul Estrin, Dirk Roettgers and Claudia Trentini. The survey of legal frameworks governing state-owned enterprises was completed with the assistance of EY Russia, GRATA International, law firms and members of the South East Legal Alliance, and Nestor Advisors and their legal partners Antis Triantafyllides & Sons LLC, Nestor Nestor Diculescu Kingston Petersen, Law Offices of George Jabre & Partners, Cabinet Abdellatif El Quortobi, Cabinet Hedda-Ellouze Ellouze & Belajouza-Felli, and A. F. & R. Shehadeh.